Career as a Scuba Diving Instructor

Category: Career 42 0

Career as a Scuba Diving InstructorScuba Diving is a different career to choose for. There is a different thrill in jumping into the water & explore the beautiful marine life. One need not necessarily be a corporate hotshot to earn huge bucks.

Basically, scuba diving is underwater diving in which a diver uses a scuba set to breathe underwater. A typical scuba set contains breathing equipment (in a cylindrical shape), swim fins, diving mats & helmets. A scuba diving instructor is in charge of teaching  free divers, recreational divers, technical divers, professional scuba divers & tourists.

Eligibility to become a Scuba Diving Instructor

In order to become a Scuba Diving Instructor, they need to be a member of PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) known as the world’s largest diving training organization. different types of courses are available ranging from Scuba Diver to Open water Diver & finally reaching to Master Scuba Diver.

PADI offers various programs for professional certification:.

  • Assistant Instructor
  • Open Water Scuba Instructor (OWSI)
  • Specialty Instructor
  • Master Scuba Diver Trainer (MSDT)
  • IDC Staff Instructor
  • Divemaster
  • Master Instructor
  • PADI Course Director

Diving Schools in India:

One can find a few diving schools in India & enroll oneself there in.

  1. Dive Goa, Goa  http://divegoa.com/
  2. Barracuda Diving, Goa  http://www.barracudadiving.com/courses.php
  3. Temple Adventures, Pondicherry   http://www.templeadventures.com/scuba_diving_india.htm
  4. Andaman Bubbles, Havelock Islands, Andaman & Nicobar Islands  http://www.andamanbubbles.com/
  5. Barefoot Scuba/Dive Andamans, Andaman & Nicobar Islands  http://diveandamans.com/
  6. Dive India, Havelock, Andaman & Nicobar Islands  http://www.diveindia.com/
  7. Lacadives, Lakshwadeep, India http://lacadives.com/

This career seems to be too interesting but it has got its own disadvantages. Many diving schools are keen on hiring foreign instructors instead of local scuba diving instructors which proves as a threat to them.

One can start up his/her own business by recruiting PADI scuba diving instructors, setting up a base, getting the right equipment & building a network there on. One must necessarily establish contacts within all the nearby hotels & resorts so as to attract all the tourists.

If one is recruited as a PADI instructor one gets a golden opportunity to travel various places & explore within. The salary earned by a Scuba Diving Instructor is Rs.30000/- initially which increases gradually. The fees involved in pursuing the course is nearly Rs.50000/- to Rs.70000/-

Thus if one is involved in fitness trends then one is sure shot to give for this career. If one likes staying in a coastal town or an island then this is the career meant for you.

Scuba diving is a profession where in you need not work for 365 days round the year.  Share your experience with us 🙂

Related Articles

Add Comment